The Lazarus Prophecy

By F G Cottam

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


This book really caught me off guard. I chose it on the basis of it seeming to be a crime procedural kind of plot with slightly sinister overtones. Thought it would be a good casual read for a flight.

Turned out to be a quite novel work in terms of the subject and and how it was handled. I really enjoyed it; in part because it is well written but largely because it’s a really smart telling of the story.

On paper the plot is closer to horror or suspense but it never seems to completely give way to that and reads like a good crime thriller. For me this is because the killer is slightly under-written. By that I mean that despite his nature he is never sensationalised or subject to too bright a light. He dwells in shadows and the supernatural element is never overstated.

So I really enjoyed it. The characters were solid enough, the “end of days” theme was not overblown, the heretical sect was a smart device; all very well staged. The ending was not overly dramatic which I liked but it seemed to leave a few characters stories’ feeling a little incomplete. That’s a minor point though as overall it’s a very good read.

Leave a comment